ECP Immunomodulation Award 2024

Celebrating 30 Years of Therakos ECP Immunomodulation™ treating GvHD Patients

Advancing ECP Immunomodulation Investigator Award in Graft versus host disease:
Refining THERAKOS ECP Immunomodulation™

The Award

In 2024 we have reached a significant milestone in that Therakos ECP ImmunomodulationTM has been treating GvHD patients for 30 years.  To recognise this fact and demonstrate our continued commitment to investigation the science of ECP this years award will focus on GvHD.

As in previous years, the 2024 award programme is intended to recognise and support young researchers or their institutions who are making a difference in advancing the knowledge around ECP Immunomodulation, in the EMEA region*, with one educational grant of €75,000. This year’s award programme supports research that investigates the overarching immunomodulatory role of ECP while harnessing the ability of each patient’s immune system to modulate dysregulated immune function in Graft versus Host disease.

Find out more about the past EIA winners and their research in advancing the knowledge around ECP Immunomodulation

Discover more


The following types of projects will be considered:

  • Basic, translational or outcomes-based research (examples could include, but are not limited to, mechanistic questions, cell populations involved, the analysis of existing clinical data and/or corresponding patient reported outcomes and biomarker samples).

  • Collaborative projects, in the meaning that research could be carried out by the applicant in collaboration with multiple institutions. This is intended to encourage pan-European collaborations.

The Investigator Award Committee, consisting of a group of Medical Scientists employed by Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals, will select applications based on the above-mentioned criteria, judging specifically the novelty and feasibility of submitted projects. Please see all terms and conditions specified below.

Closing Date

Applications will be accepted from now until 1st September.

The winner of the award will be notified by 20th September.

How to apply

Submit your applications here

Submit Applications

*Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom.